FREE SHIPPING on order above ₹199. GRAB A PACK NOW!!!

What to eat in India if you’re on a gluten-free diet?

It’s hard being on a gluten-free diet in India. Can you imagine your snacks without bread, kachori, samosa, jalebi, imarti and other fried condiments and desserts? No, right!

To make your life easy, we have compiled a list of foods that you can eat in India if you are gluten-free. In case you are looking for gluten-free snack food online in Mumbai then look no further. Hapifuel has a drool-worthy variety of roasted makhanas and jowar puffs that are gluten-free and super healthy.

What to eat in India if you’re on a gluten-free diet?

Thankfully, the Indian diet and foods are very flexible and there’s no dearth of gluten-free food items. Although, make sure you read the product label to avoid any contact or accidental ingestion of any ingredients that contain gluten.

Here’s a list of gluten-free food items that you can eat in India –

  1. Flattened rice or Poha
    Poha or flattened rice is naturally gluten-free since rice doesn’t have gluten. Poha is a nutritious dish. It is a healthy source of carbs, is gluten-free, is loaded with iron, is rich in fibre, and is a fantastic source of antioxidants and other vitamins.

  2. Bajra ki Roti
    Known as Pearl Millet in English, bajra has high fibre content and can be eaten if you are gluten intolerant. Bajra ki roti is a flatbread that is skillfully made with bajra ka atta (pearl millet flour) and eaten with Indian curries.

  3. Makki ki Roti
    Known as Cornmeal in English, Makki is the finely grounded flour derived from ground maize. The flour made from maize is high in fibre, carbohydrates, and energy.  cornmeal helps keep your blood sugar from skyrocketing because it is rich in zinc, which is important for the production of insulin.

  4. Dosa
    Dosa is a gluten-free crispy pancake that is prepared with rice batter. It is eaten with sambhar, a savoury soup made with dal and vegetables; and coconut chutney prepared with fresh coconut and curd.
Hapifuel Dosa

5.   Curd

Curd is gluten-free naturally. Sweet lassi, buttermilk, etc are safe to consume if you are avoiding gluten. Curd acts as a great probiotic. The good bacteria present in curd helps to clear out the digestive system. It improves our gut activity and is great for treating an upset stomach.

6.    Dal

Dal (pulses) is gluten-free. Just beware that wheat flour is not used to thicken the dal while cooking it.

7.    Makhana and Jowar

Popularly known as Fox nuts and Sorghum respectively, makhana and jowar are completely gluten-free and great for health. You can buy roasted makhanas and jowar puffs from Hapifuel which has an exciting variety of gluten-free snack food online in Mumbai.